Preparing for new DevOps job role

Viktor Ng
1 min readAug 20, 2022

My new job requires me to be a Tester + DevOps role.

Being just a full time tester up to this point really got me nervous, as I have very limited knowledge about DevOps and cloud computing, or the full picture of SDLC in general.

Nevertheless, it is the increased challenge and opportunity to learn triggered me to made the switch. I don’t want to be stuck on just QA knowledge, and want to be involved more in the software development and deployment aspect of it as a way to increase my depth

Skills I had learned so far.

  • VM setup & Vagrant provisioning
  • Linux command, Bash Scripting
  • Basic Networking
  • Basic container understanding
  • AWS EC2 provisioning to install services, and AWS service itself (ELB, RDS, ECS, Beanstalk etc)
  • Git
  • Maven

And right now I’m focusing on Jenkins, the infamous CI/CD tools!

If any one out there has just started your DevOps journey, I want to connect with you so that we can share our knowledge and experience together. Do leave a comments for it.

Have a great day, and cheers =)

--

--

Viktor Ng

Software tester from Malaysia. Hobby includes drinking coffee and flute. Writes to seek improvement on self expression on stuffs.